You Can’t Simply Choose Happiness When You Have A Mental Illness

I stole this because this is 100% how I feel about those stupid motivational quotes.

Slay Girl Society

I repeat, happiness is not a choice. Okay? Here’s why.

I was recently looking for images to share on the Slay Girl Society Instagram page. I like to share inspirational and motivational quotes, as well as interesting facts and stories about mental health. I cannot tell you how many images I saw that had, in my opinion, problematic phrases. Stuff like:

“When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change” or “Happiness is all in your attitude” or “The moment you start acting like life is a blessing, it starts feeling like one.” or “Keep choosing happiness daily and happiness will choose you right back” or simply “Choose Happiness”.

I’m not going to argue that these can’t be inspirational to you because they might really resonate and that’s great. But to me, as someone with a mental illness (bipolar disorder), they make me cringe…

View original post 687 more words

Leave a Reply

